Monday, July 15, 2024

“PM Modi Extends Congratulations to Pakistan’s Newly Elected Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif: A Cross-Border Gesture”


During protests, amidst the Parliament, Shehbaz Sharif secured 201 votes on Sunday, marking his second term as Prime Minister of Pakistan.

Shehbaz Sharif, the newly elected prime minister of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) party, was congratulated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Twitter on Tuesday.

PM Modi congratulates Shehbaz Sharif

He tweeted, “Congratulations to @CMShehbaz on taking oath as the Prime Minister of Pakistan.”
Amidst the protests, Shehbaz Sharif secured 201 votes in Parliament on Sunday, marking his second term as Prime Minister of Pakistan. Along with Bilawal Bhutto Zardari’s Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), his party, the PML-N, will form a coalition government.

Nawaz Sharif’s support

PML-N leader Nawaz Sharif supported his younger brother Shehbaz Sharif for the Prime Minister’s position and the party’s loyal Sardar Ayaz Sadiq for the Speaker of the National Assembly. As a component of the coalition agreement between PML-N and PPP, a consensus was reached to appoint Maryam Nawaz, daughter of Nawaz Sharif, as the Chief Executive of Punjab province. Maryam, the political heir of Nawaz, took oath on February 26, becoming the first female Chief Minister of any province in the country.

The appointment of PPP senior leader and former Pakistani president Asif Ali Zardari as president was agreed upon in the second section of the agreement.

In the elections held on February 8, Sharif’s PML-N party secured the second position. Despite winning the most seats, independents backed by the imprisoned former prime minister Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) failed to secure a majority in parliament.

Pakistan Election Results

According to Pakistan’s constitution, a party needs to win 133 out of the 265 contested seats in the 266-member National Assembly to form the government.

Independents allied with Imran Khan’s PTI won 93 seats out of 265 in the National Assembly.

PML-N, led by Nawaz Sharif, won on 75 seats in the National Assembly.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) secured 54 seats in the National Assembly.

Also Read : “Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP Candidate List of 195 Candidates – Check Who’s Contesting Where!”

During the division, Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P), representing Urdu-speaking migrants from India in Karachi, secured 17 seats.

The electoral process for a single seat was delayed following the unfortunate demise of a candidate.

Read more

Local News